Aside
“I PLANTED A VINEYARD”

May 4, 2013


5 Now will I sing to my well beloved a song of my beloved touching his vineyard. My well beloved 
hath a vineyard in a very fruitful hill: 2 And he fenced it, and gathered out the stones thereof, and 
planted it with the choicest vine, and built a tower in the midst of it, and also made a winepress 
therein: and he looked that it should bring forth grapes, and it brought forth wild grapes. Isaiah 5
 

 
“I sing a song of my beloved.  For I planted a vineyard and I hedged it all around.  I tended it as the 
Master Gardener.  And the fruit that I saw there was cultivated and made ready to grow.  And then I
saw that weeds began to grow around what I had planted there.  My plantings had begun to be
choked out by what was around them.  So I watered it round about and gave it my sunlight; and some
became tall and green in my kingdom.  They overshadowed many of the other plants.  And they
thought that they were great and exalted themselves in my presence.  Then because they thought they
were so great they thought that they no longer needed my care and attention.  Then their leaves
took on another hue.  All the other plants noticed these changes in them, but they still desired my
care and attention.   
 
I tell you that these plants that have taken on another hue represent many in the church today.  For 
you have thought that you were great and you have been building your own kingdoms.  But you don’t
notice that your fruit is drying up.  You don’t notice that the ground around you is cracked and needs
watering.  I will leave you to your own devices since you don’t think that you need my care and

attention. “

Stephen Hanson  

“I PLANTED A VINEYARD”May 4, 20135 Now will I

Leave a Reply

